Thalassea

Others viewed this home

About the Home

  • SaffronStays Thalassea is a 3-bedroom home situated right on Thal Beach, at the end of the famed Ganesh Gulli in Alibaug, less than 30 minutes from the Mandwa Jetty, the Alibaug beach, and the Kolaba Fort. 
  • Ideal for weekend getaways near Mumbai, this seafront private villa is one-of-its-kind, placed right on the beach for easy access to the sun, sand and salty waves. 
  • Unique in its gorgeous simplicity, the holiday home boasts of a curious amalgamation of repurposed decor, such as the stairway, artworks and paintings, that find their origin in palaces and mansions from all over the country. 
  • In the evening, watch the fiery sunsets give way to a beautiful starlit sky from the beach-facing balcony and enjoy the quiet solitude that only this home can offer. 
  • Utilise the family room to create lasting memories with your loved ones, listen to music or unwind. 
  • Ideal for: Pre-wedding intimate celebrations, beach parties with family and friends, corporate events and offsites upto 65 guests.

    Capacity

    6 Guests for an overnight stay, 65 guests for day event.

    Read More

    Home-cooked Meals

    Outside food is allowed. The caretaker will be able to help you with menus of nearby restaurants.

    Spotlight

    What it feels like staying at Thalassea, Alibaug

    • A generic square placeholder image with rounded corners in a figure.

      Since the property is right on the beach, you can ...read more

    • A generic square placeholder image with rounded corners in a figure.

      Spend time reading a book from the mini-library.

    • A generic square placeholder image with rounded corners in a figure.

      Spend quality time with your family and friends wh...read more

    SaffronStays Care


    • Our caretakers will ensure you have a hassle-free stay.
    • The villa has a boundary and gated enclosure.
    • There are no CCTV cameras in the villa.

    Things to know before booking

    Check-In and Check-Out:
    • Check-In Time : 1 PM
    • Check-Out Time : 10 AM
    • Given the increased need for safety, hygiene and sanitization required at the villa, and for the safety of our guests and staff we cannot allow any early check-ins or late check-outs. The check-in and check-out timings mentioned online and in your confirmation email need to be followed.

    House Rules:
    • Guests are not allowed to access the kitchen since it is not fully equipped. 
    • Guests cannot invite other guests and day visitors during their stay.
    • Bachelor groups & stag parties are not allowed.
    • We do not encourage parties and late-night revelry. Loud music is not permitted beyond 10 pm.
    • Consumption of alcohol is permitted only within limits.
    • Illegal activities including but not limited to carrying/consuming drugs/narcotics and carrying firearms/weapons are prohibited on the property. Management reserves the right to report any such activities to local authorities.
    • Guests are prohibited from smoking and setting up hookahs in the rooms/villa/lawns.
    • The pool (if present) is unguarded. There is no lifeguard on site. Children in the pool must be accompanied by adults at all times.
    • Guests are requested to take care of all personal valuables. Management is not responsible for loss, theft or damage to any items.
    • As required by law, every guest above 18 years must carry government-approved photo ID proof, that shows address. We accept only Aadhar Cards, Driving Licenses and Passports.
    • Inappropriate behaviour or violation of any of the above House Rules will invite a polite refusal to accept a Booking. If already checked in, Management reserves the right to ask guests to leave.
    • No crackers or colours are permitted in this home.

    About the Property:
    • Alibaug experiences load shedding by MSEB every Tuesday, between 9 am - 6 pm, and during monsoon, power cuts may recur throughout the day. We have a for backup power. However, we advice switching off ACs every 3 hours to avoid burnouts.
    • Outside food is allowed. The caretaker will be able to help you with menus of nearby restaurants. 
    • There is no cook available at the home. 
    • In case of a power outage or fluctuations, generators can be switched on. However, power outages or fluctuations due to weather, regional restrictions, etc. are beyond our control. Hence, diesel charges for genset operation will need to be paid by the guests at actuals. The genset needs to be switched off for 30 mins, after every two hours of usage, to avoid a breakdown.
    • 3 extra mattresses will be provided only for kids. Maximum occupancy for adults is 6. 
    • The villa cannot be booked for day picnics or events. 

    About the Locality:
    • Indulge yourself with a walk in the coconut grove.
    • We recommend spending time on the hammocks, letting the breeze tousle your hair, either reading an interesting novel, sipping hot tea or simply drifting into peaceful naps.
    • Want to step out from the property? You could visit the Alibaug beach (18 mins), Siddheshwar Waterfall (43 minutes) and Kolaba Fort (19 mins).

    Cancellation Policy


    Sleeping Arrangements

    1 x Double bed
    1 x Double bed
    2 x Single bed
    Additional mattresses available

    Reviews

    4.6 (19)


    R
    Raisha
    28 Nov 2021

    It’s a beautiful villa. A perfect place to rejuvenate, relax and refresh. The property is blissful. The interiors of the villa has all amenities and has great mix of yesterday and today’s world look. The backyard is a beautiful lawn with hammocks and direct beach access. The Thal beach is clean, serene and one of the best hidden beaches.


    V
    Vivek
    23 Nov 2021

    Great place, absolutely fantastic property, great location, staff is very helpful.


    S
    Steffina
    12 Nov 2021

    A nice quiet place away from the all the tourist crowd which opens up straight to the beach. Eating options are limited from this place so be prepared for the situation, but all the well known eateries are at a 15 min drive. The place is aesthetic, spacious and if you’re looking for a quite peaceful tie with your friends and family this is the place to be.


    H
    Harit
    07 Nov 2021

    Had a pleasant stay here


    Z
    Zaina
    27 Oct 2021

    It was a very pleasant stay. The care taker-Kiran was good and of good help, the stay was made very convenient. Also the associate from the Saffron stay team Mr. Prathamesh Kalan was polite and kind. The property has breathtaking with a private beach connecting.


    A
    Abhishek
    14 Oct 2021

    We had a relatively comfortable stay the villa is surrounded by lush greenery & awesome Seaview, overall it's nice retreat for a weekend.


    S
    Saurabh
    14 Oct 2021

    It was a good family stay. It could have been not so great if Prathmesh( saffron stays) & kiran(The Caretaker) wouldn't be such a great help. We thought the property owner could have maintained it better, esp mowing the lawn etc. Also rule related to power outage can not be justified after paying such an exorbitant price. At the end reiterating , the kindness and help offered by Prathmesh and kiran (even literally at 4 am) is much appreciated.


    R
    Rohan
    17 Sep 2021

    Had a great stay at Alibag Thalassea. Prathamesh and Kiran have been exceptionally cordial and hospitable in their conduct. This villa is highly recommended for a little get away from hectic lifestyle!


    K
    Kalpana
    31 Aug 2021

    Stayed this weekend. A very very nice property, small and cozy. With hammocks in the garden and a beach - right there in front. Especial mention, Coordinator Prathmesh who was accessible on point at all points and was there to welcome us, explain us the rules as it was our first SaffronStay. We had a great stay, made very good by Cook Prakash, who ensured our preferences were understood and met and Caretaker Kiran who didn't say no for anything. A Highly recommended vacation home.

    SaffronStays Care Team

    Hi Kalpana, Thank you for this lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Book with us some time soon, cannot wait to host you again! :)


    A
    Abhijit
    24 Aug 2021

    Wonderful stay, co-operative staff great hospitality service, Must visit again.

    SaffronStays Care Team

    Hi Abhijit, Thank you for this review. Visit us again, cannot wait to host you. :)


    S
    Smita
    22 Aug 2021

    The house is beautiful and has that ancient feel and I will definitely give 5 stars for that but since it's an old house you can see the wear and tear , especially the upholstery and the flooring. Hygiene and cleanliness can be worked upon again with upholstery, floor. Overall our stay was beautiful and kiran (caretaker) and Prathamesh made sure everything was well taken care of..

    SaffronStays Care Team

    Hi Smita, Thank you for this review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As for your feedback, please be assured that this has been escalated to the relevant team members and we're actively working on it. :)


    I
    Ipshita
    16 Aug 2021

    Very beautiful property and it’s right at the beach. One can see the beach right from the veranda. The property also has a direct access to the beach. Since we stayed in the Rainy season, the beach was a a little dirty because the sea had thrown back lot of oil and the sand was fixed with oil from the sea that was very difficult to remove from the shoes. Saffronstays had arranged for a cook during our stay and food was good mostly. The master bedroom had a very beautiful view of the garden over looking the sea. Overall, the property was very comfortable and staff were very hospitable. Would recommend a stay for a day or two.


    A
    Abhrajit
    02 Aug 2021

    Firstly let me start by saying that nothing beats the location, ambience & soul soothing sea breeze @Thalassea. I will happily grant 5 stars for the above 3 points & the amazing caretaker Kiran who provided us with lipsmacking home cooked meals. Where the SS guys need to pull up their socks big time, is listed below. 1. I do not appreciate a call the evening before my holiday to say that I'll be charged 200 bucks/hour for DG backup as the property experiences frequent power cuts. At 25k+ per night, is it too much to expect basic amenities like uninterrupted power? Not only did I have to call the caretaker every time the power went, but sadly on our 2nd night it went at 2am. For 30 mins we were contemplating whether to call the caretaker at those odd hours or wait. A house full of disgruntled adults & children compelled me to call & ask him to switch on the genset at 2.30am. Not acceptable! The least you guys can do is to ensure a comfortable nights sleep for your customers. Please include the diesel money in your daily rate and spare people the discomfort. 2. Talking of basic amenities, we've done a number of villa holidays in the last 3 years. This is the 1st time we visited a property that di6dnt have an electric kettle let alone a few satchets of tea/coffee/milk/sugar. So if you are an early riser and wish to enjoy a hot cuppa, the only way out is to wake up the poor caretaker and asking him to make you one. 3. This place doesn't have a microwave either, so if you are travelling with kids who are hungry every couple of hours, it's a huge inconvenience. 4. The place needs a serious clean up and pest control. Our master bedroom had spiders, and lizards the size of tiny pencils on the sofa, table and our bed!! 5. Please note, duvet covers are part of linen too and need changing after every guest leaves. Ours didnt look like it's been washed for quite sometime and had unmentionable stains. Also in the twin room upstairs, there were no covers for the blankets or sheets provided. In covid times or any other time, this is not acceptable. Imagine having to use a blanket that has been used by god knows how many before you! 6. The place also needs some maintenance! An entire window panel is missing in the upstairs living room. So everytime it rained, half the room got wet. Same happened in the master bedroom. The window doesn't close properly and is tied with strings. After a shower, we went up to find all our stuff on the beside table d


    T
    Tanvi
    27 Jul 2021

    The view from the villa is simply outstanding. Local food provided by caretaker was awesome. Only if they had tv and microwave would have been more convenient.


    M
    Minakshi
    20 Jul 2021

    Lovely stay, we had a great time


    N
    Neha
    17 Jul 2021

    The house is lovely and tastefully done up especially loved the high roof exposed trusses and skylight window in it. The house is open and airy and was perfect for our 2 day break away from the city. Thal beach is accessible (go right not left once you step out .. thank me later :)


    S
    10 Jul 2021

    Thalassea has a beautiful location and a fantastic rustic yet stylish Decor .. making it luxurious and absolutely photo worthy The food options are minimal but we were lucky to find a local caterer (owner of Spicy kitchen) to meet our needs The caretaker is present through the day. The rooms are done tastefully have marvellous views and one can relax in the natural ambience The access road to the beach can be cleaned up making it easier to reach the serene beach Lighting in the garden could be improved though There were frequent power fluctuations and one has to rely on the generator during hot and humid weather. Windows need to be attended to as creepy crawlies can enter through gaps The first day the fans in the outside porch area were not working and the ground level bedroom fans were not working making the heat unbearable. The Ac in the ground level bedroom needs to be attended to as it’s not very effective. There’s no TV (we were ok with that though). A microwave on site would be helpful for quick heating

    SaffronStays Care Team

    Hi S. Prasad, Thank you for taking your time out to help us with this feedback. We're glad you liked the location and are immediately looking into the areas of improvement you mentioned/suggested. Please book with us some time soon, we cannot wait to host you again. :)


    M
    Meenakshi
    08 Jul 2021

    Saff all stars as he used to follow our instructions if given by us.No initiation from his side.

    SaffronStays Care Team

    Hi Meenakshi, Thank you for taking your time out to review us. We're glad you liked our hospitality. Please book with us some time soon, we cannot wait to host you again. :)


    G
    Gaurav
    27 Jun 2021

    Need food options or cook at villa


    Min 1 Night(s)
    No of Rooms
    Room Charges: 0
    Meals: 0
    GST: 0


    including GST

    Dates are not Available

    Prices are dynamic, but guaranteed till midnight

    You will have to pay a refundable security deposit of 5,000 per room